My digital pensieve and hopefully a clean slate

It literally feels as though my head is too full of concerns and anger over some things that I have not felt the desire to blog. I truly miss writing but when my fingers hit the keyboard, no words appear on the screen. So I took a cue from a fellow BC blogger, and I decided to share what is on my mind so that I can start with a clean slate. Here are a few of the most pressing worries and frustrations.

*Extra cool points for those who understand the title reference. If not, read about it here.

1) Hurricane Ike

As some of you may know, I’m from Texas, north of Houston specifically. My eyes have been glued to every online storm tracker and news article about this storm for the last few days. I have spoken with my family and they feel they are prepared. But it is hard to be out of the country and feeling helpless to do anything. Although this is most pressing worry at the moment, I will feel better once the storm passes this weekend with hopefully everything being alright.

2) Leaving Argentina

I am leaving Argentina to return to the States at the end of this month. Due to the remaining effects of the events of July, I abandoned my initial project idea for this new idea of creating a council of patients to leverage their self-mobilization efforts. The largest problem is finding a way to institutionalize their meetings given all the challenges that each of the patients faces in their daily lives: work, transportation costs and time. I am trying to find way to ensure the sustainability of the group, but with the time crunch and the logistical challenges, I am not sure how it will end.

3) Nervousness about returning to the States

As much as I was scared to admit it to myself, I am a bit nervous about returning to the States. Aside from the reverse culture shock, which I have been through before without wallowing in it, this will be my return to the “real world” aka full-time work. I have loved volunteering this last year, both for seeing first hand the impact of my work as well as the freedom that I have to put my ideas into action. That will certainly change when heading back to the workplace, but I am trying hard to find a compromise.

4) Frustrations with the government’s response to a flailing economy

Billions of dollars of taxpayers’ money to bail out dysfunctional, incompetent, and borderline unethical companies? Another major investment bank in need of the federal government to broker a bailout? However, no help for the consumers who have lost their homes due to corporations that preyed on the poor to turn a quick profit with specious financial instruments. I can’t wait for this administration to leave office.

5) Mainstream media’s inability to actually provide balanced and substantive coverage of the campaigns

If I see the phrase “lipstick on a pig” or on any other animal, I might scream. Why is mainstream media apparently incapable of covering issues of substance rather than stories covered to raise ratings and readership? Why is John Stewart better at fact checking candidates and their surrogates? Why, when a presidential campaign decides to silo their vice presidential candidate, does the media not cry foul play?

I feel better already after writing this down.

3 comments so far

  1. deva on

    1. i totally got the reference in your title🙂
    2. good luck with the reverse culture shock. it’s never a super fun experience (as you know).
    3. any idea of what you’ll be doing once you get back?
    4. jon stewart should be president. with colbert as vp. i think a lot of people would agree with me on that.
    5. did you apply enter the mixtape contest on the echoing green website? i work for echoing green and i saw your entry! we will be doing the final judging on monday!

  2. Kate J on

    Hey! Nice to hear from you — send public/global health book recommendations my way if you want! I hear that Elizabeth Pasani’s Wisdom of Whores is supposed to be good.

    I’m about to visit Texas (Dallas) in a couple of weeks, as my boyfriend is checking out a job there. I was hoping to connect with any world changers in that part of the world if you know of anyone!

    kate

  3. Vanessa on

    @deva I am applying for some AmeriCorps positions in Houston and Austin but nothing is clear yet. I think that a Colbert/Stewart White House would be entertaining for press conferences to say the least. At least people would be engaged in the democratic process.

    @Kate J I don’t know of any directly in Dallas. If you haven’t joined the Changeblogger Network yet, you should join. I’m sure that someone has connections in Dallas.

    Here is the address: http://changeblogger.ning.com/


Leave a Reply

