Not according to plan: Change fatigue

I have a confession to make. Although I am still physically in Argentina, mentally I have one foot here and the other back in the States even though I am not leaving for five weeks. The mental divide was prompted as much by practical reasons (needing a job) as personal reasons (a certain degree of homesickness). Don’t get me wrong; I still have plenty to look forward to while I’m here and I know will miss the friends I have made here.

I was looking for a little inspiration tonight. Luckily, I was able to watch Michelle Obama’s DNC speech online. There are not many powerful African American female role models to emulate. Politics aside, although I am an Obama supporter, I really admire Michelle Obama for the accomplishments she has achieved in her duties to the community and to her family.

The part where she speaks about Obama seeing the world as it is and how it should be hit home. Ultimately, everyone who sets out to change the world for the better is working in the gap between those two worlds. Feeling part of this historical progression for social justice and being able to contribute is truly inspirational.

Here is a clip of her speech if you were looking for a little inspiration as well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

