Semana de Línguas 2008 (Language Week 2008)

Eu decidi a participar em A Semana de Línguas 2008. É um meme para escrever seu blog em uma língua estrangeira para cada dia essa semana. Para segunda-feira, eu vou escrever em português. Vou escrever a tradução abaixo em inglês. Eu sei que há pouca gente que entender português!

I have decided to participate in Language Week 2008. This is a meme to write your blog in a foreign language every day for a week. For Monday, I am going to write in Portuguese. I will write the translation below in English. I know that few people understand Portuguese!

Havia muito tempo que eu falava ou escrevia em português. Mas hoje encontrei uma baiana que mora em La Plata. Nos falávamos de Salvador da Bahia e o clima tropical. O litoral de Bahia é o mais bonito do mundo! Ela falou em espanhol quando eu falei em português. Era difícil para mim porque as duas línguas são tão semelhantes. Cada segunda palavra era em espanhol! Nos trocamos as direções de correio electrónico e agora tenho uma amiga com quem posso praticar. Alguém sabe alguma maneira para manter duas línguas especialmente quando não há muita gente que falar uma dessas línguas?

It has been some time since I have spoken or written in Portuguese. But today I met a baiana who lives in La Plata. We talked about Salvador da Bahia and the tropical climate. The coast of Bahia is the most beautiful in the world¡ She spoke in Spanish while I spoke in Portuguese. It was difficult for me because the two languages are so similar. Every other word was in Spanish! We exchanged email addresses and now I have a friend to practice with. Does anyone know a good way to maintain two languages especially when there are not many people who speak one of those languages?

3 comments so far

  1. srah on

    Excelente!

  2. moe on

    Watch foreign movies in the language you want to practice. Maybe you can order them online or get them from a library.
    When I was tiny, we lived in Manaus, Brazil, and my mom told me that my first words were in Portuguese, shooing a dog out of the house. (Babelfish translation says that would be “Saia, persiga!” Is that right? )

  3. Vanessa on

    @srah Thanks! The Spanish one tomorrow should be more plentiful.

    @moe I guess I need to look into getting NetFlix. That translation is almost right. Saia generally means skirt. You probably said “Sai” because it’s more informal.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

